The Register of Deeds' Office provides many services to the county and is the primary county record-keeping and archival office concerning vital statistics (marriage, birth and death records), land records (such as plats, deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, assignments, etc.), military discharge records, hospital liens, mechanics liens, county, state and federal tax liens, powers of attorney, fictitious name filings, UCC filings, etc.

The office is also responsible for the issuance of marriage licenses, as well as certified copies of birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage licenses.

The Lake County Clerk of Courts Office located in the Courthouse no longer performs marriage ceremonies

Many of the records held at the Lake County Register of Deeds' Office date back to the early 1870's and provide a wealth of information for those persons wanting to research or trace area history.

Staff

Shirley Ebsen

Register of Deeds Send an Email

Paula Ullom

Deputy Register of Deeds Send an Email

Useful Information

  • Fee Schedule

    Click here to view the fee schedule for real estate, liens, mineral records, miscellaneous filings, UCC, vital records, copy fees, and search fees.

  • Vital Records

    The Register of Deeds' Vital Records Department maintains birth, death, marriage, and burial record information. The Office works directly with the South Dakota Department of Health and Vital Records. Birth, death, and marriage records are also on file with the SD Dept. of Health.

  • Birth Records

    South Dakota Birth records officially date back to approximately 1905. Effective July 1, 2005, in order to obtain a copy of a birth record, a person must complete the necessary application form and provide proof of identity. If an authorized representative is designated for the registrant, the authorization section of the application must also be completed and submitted along with a $15.00 fee for each copy requested. The $15.00 fee is required, by law, regardless of whether the record is found. The $15.00 fee may be waived if an applicant qualifies under certain circumstances. Birth Certificate application forms and instructions are available at the Register of Deeds’ Office. Birth records that are over 100 years old may be found on the following website: Birth Record Search Site

  • Marriage Records

    South Dakota Marriage records in Lake County date back to 1872, before statehood, when we were known as Dakota Territory. Some of the marriage records include marriages performed outside of Lake County. The cost of a certified copy of the marriage certificate is $15.00. If you wish to purchase a certified copy of the marriage license, please complete the necessary application form and provide proof of identity. If we find the record, you are issued a certified copy of the marriage certificate, however, if we do not find the record in our county, the Department of Health will issue, a "no record letter.”

  • Death Records

    A certified death certificate can be issued from the Register of Deeds Office upon receipt of the required $15.00 fee.

    In order to obtain a certified copy of a death certificate, an application form must be completed and proof of identity provided. The decedent’ s name must be provided, along with their date of death and other relevant information requested on the application. If we find the record, you are issued a copy of the death certificate and, if we do not find the record, you will receive a no-record letter from the State Department of Health.

  • Burial Permits

    Burial Permits are records concerning a person buried. This record is only issued by the local Register of Deeds and the permit is filed in the county in which the deceased is buried. The burial permit may give the date of death, the person's name, and location of burial. Some records will provide more information depending on the year. These records can be copied for you in an uncertified format with a cost of $1.00 per document. There are no restrictions for searching these records. If we do not find a record, we do not have to charge you a fee. (The burial permit records date back to the 1920s.)

  • Marriage License Requirements

    Marriage Application Fact Sheet

    The Lake County Clerk of Courts Office located in the Courthouse no longer performs marriage ceremonies.

    The requirements for obtaining a marriage license are as follows:

    1. The bride and groom must be 18 years of age or older.
    2. Both the bride and groom need to come into the office together to sign their marriage license application in our presence, at which time both of their signatures will be captured electronically.
    3. Identification is required in order to apply for a marriage license. A valid driver's license, or other acceptable form of photo identification which also states a birth date, will be required. If a marriage license applicant is from a foreign country and does not have a valid driver's license, they will be required to provide their passport as an acceptable form of identification.
    4. The applicants' Social Security numbers are also required; however, the Social Security card does not need to be provided.
    5. The marriage license must be used within 20 days of purchase, or it will expire.
    6. If a marriage license is purchased in the State of South Dakota, it must be used within the Sate of South Dakota and cannot be used in any other state. However, the marriage license may be purchased in any county in the state and the marriage solemnized in any county within the state.
    7. The cost of the marriage license is $40.00 cash only. We do not accept checks or credit cards or debit cards.

      If you are between the ages of 16 or 17:
      You must have a parent or guardian's written notarized consent. This form is available at our office. The parent or guardian can either come with the bride and groom and sign the form when the couples apply for the marriage license, or the couple will need to bring a written notarized consent with them at the time of application. All of the above requirements also apply in this case.

Contact Information

Main Office

Address:
Lake County Register of Deeds
200 E Center St
Madison SD 57042

Phone:
605-256-7614

Office Hours:
8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Monday – Friday (excluding Holidays)

Announcements

County Offices Closed
Wednesday, April 8, 2020

County offices will be closed on Friday, April 10, 2020, in observance of Good Friday.

Real Estate & Mobile Home Taxes - First Half
Wednesday, April 1, 2020

First half of Real Estate and Mobile Home Taxes due by the end of April. Please bring your tax notices with you. Tax payments must be made for the exact amount only.
Tax payments may be sent to the Treasurer's Office at 200 E. Center St, Madison, SD 57042 and MUST be postmarked by April 30. Please send your tax stubs to ensure proper credit to the correct parcels of land. Please note: Payments received or postmarked after April 30th will reflect a late fee and interest.

County Response to COVID-19 Public Health Emergency
Friday, March 27, 2020

The Commission adopted a plan for continuity of county operations in response to the COVID-19. Currently county offices are open and available to do in-person business by APPOINTMENT only. Please review the release here for specific details. This plan was updated on 3/24/2020 - click here for specific details.

Voter Registration
Thursday, March 26, 2020

Lake County offices are open and available to provide in-person essential services to the public by appointment only. Voter registration forms may be mailed. There is a locked drop box in the north vestibule of the courthouse where forms can be dropped off. The box is checked every two hours. For voters that want to deliver their form in person, please call 605-256-7600 for an appointment.

County Board of Equalization
Monday, March 23, 2020

The County Board of Equalization will meet in the commission meeting room on Tuesday, April 14th, in accordance with SDCL 10-11-25. All persons considering themselves aggrieved by said assessment are required to submit written notice tot he County Auditor no later than Tuesday, April 7, 2020.

Renew Drivers License or Vehicle Licenses Online
Wednesday, March 18, 2020

For driver’s license renewals: https://dps.sd.gov/driver-licensing

In order to renew vehicle license online, you do need to have a SDDL or SDID. Renew online at: https://mysdcars.sd.gov
The self-service terminal (STS) kiosk machines are also available for vehicle license renewals. It doesn’t matter what county you reside in, anyone with a SDDL or SDID can renew with a STS kiosk machine.

Load Limits - Effective 3/02/2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Seasonal road restrictions will become effective at 8:00 a.m. on Monday, March 2, 2020, due to the unusual warm weather conditions. Click here to view the list of restrictions. Seasonal road restrictions will remain in effect until lifted by the Lake County Highway Superintendent.

NOTICE OF DEADLINE
Monday, January 13, 2020

For Filing Nominating Petitions for the Primary Election and for Filing Independent Candidate Petitions - Click HERE to view the Notice.

Lake County © 2020. Developed by Intuvio Solutions.

Stay Connected: