General Information

An individual who wishes to carry a concealed pistol on or about his person or in a vehicle must obtain a Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol (SDCL 22-14-9). The pistol permit program is administered through the South Dakota Secretary of State's Office, and many questions related to the program can be answered by visiting the Secretary of State's Office Website. Additional information on this program may also be found in the following brochures: Concealed Carry Pistol Information and South Dakota Firearm Laws.

Application Process

The Sheriff's Office issues new and renewed concealed pistol permits to residents of Lake County who have completed the necessary application paperwork, completed and passed a background check, and paid the required fees. Applications may be filled out during regular business hours on Monday - Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Once the background check has been completed, the applicant can return to the Sheriff's Office to receive a temporary permit. The actual permit card will be sent directly to the applicant from the Secretary of State's Office within approximately 30 days.

Types of Permits

For a comparison of the benefits, basic requirements, and renewal requirements for a Regular vs. Gold Card vs. Enhanced Permit, please view this brochure: Permit Specifications.

Upgrade Permit Style

To upgrade your old pistol permit to the new style:
Send a letter requesting a replacement to the Secretary of State's Office (500 E. Capitol Ave, Ste. 204, Pierre, SD 57501). Please include: Name, Permit Number, Date of Birth, Address, Signature, and a check for $2.00 made out to the Secretary of State's Office.

Announcements

Electronic Recycling Drop Off Event
Monday, October 2, 2017

Lake County's FREE Electronic Recycling Drop Off Event will take place on Saturday, October 28, 2017, from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Click on this flyer for additional information!

Second Half of Real Estate and Mobile Home Taxes Due
Sunday, October 1, 2017

REMINDER - The second half of real estate and mobile home taxes are due by the end of the month of October! Please bring your tax notices with you or include them with your payment to ensure proper credit to the correct parcels of land. Tax payments must be made for the exact amount only and may be made in person at the Treasurer's Office or by mail, which must be postmarked by October 31.

Notice of Vacancy
Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Lake County is currently seeking a candidate for appointment of a full-time State's Attorney. The appointment will continue until January 6, 2019. Please view the Notice of Vacancy for additional information!

Lake County © 2017. Developed by Intuvio Solutions.

Stay Connected: