Photo Credit: Sarina Talich

Meeting Information

The Commission's regular meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of the month. Exceptions for 2024 include: meet on Thursday, June 6th due to Primary election; meet on Tuesday, September 24th due to SDACC convention; meet on Thursday, November 7th due to the general election.

Meetings begin at 9:00 a.m. and continue until all business for that day is concluded. The Commission meets in the commission meeting room on the first floor of the courthouse. There is an outside entrance to the commission meeting room on the northeast corner of the courthouse.

If you are interested in addressing the Commission, there is a time reserved for public comments at the beginning of every regularly scheduled meeting. To provide for clarity and consistency, the Commission has adopted guidelines for their public comment period.

Public Comment Guidelines:

Anyone wishing to make a public comment must sign in prior to the comments portion of the meeting.

Each individual will be limited to three minutes to make their comments. Individuals who require interpreters or other special accommodations may be given additional time to speak, at the discretion of the Chair. Individuals may not relinquish their allotted time to anyone else.

Comments must be presented using a civil and professional demeanor. Threatening, profane, vulgar, or abusive language will not be tolerated.

No action may be taken by the public body on any comments during the same meeting in which the comments are made. Comments that are related to a topic that the public body feels may require formal action or further discussion may be placed on a future agenda by that public body at their discretion to allow for proper notice pursuant to the open meetings laws.

Comments related to topics that are on the current agenda must be made during the time for discussion allowed for that agenda item.

The period for public comment is intended for the public body to receive comments. Members of the public body are not required to respond to a comment, answer any questions, or engage in any dialogue with the individual making the comments.


The County Commission is the governing body of Lake County. It consists of five members who are elected to serve four year terms.

Commissioners: Corey Johnke, Adam Leighton, Deb Reinicke, Dennis Slaughter, and Kelli Wollmann

Contact Information

Kelli Wollmann

Commissioner - Chair Send an Email

Dennis Slaughter

Commissioner - Vice Chair 605-256-4662 Send an Email

Corey Johnke

Commissioner Send an Email

Adam Leighton

Commissioner Send an Email

Deb Reinicke

Commissioner 605-256-4621 Send an Email


Commission Administrative Officer

Contact Information

Main Office

Lake County Commissioners
200 E Center St
Madison SD 57042



Photo Credit: Sarina Talich


Plat Deadline - 4/29/2024
Tuesday, April 9, 2024

Complete applications due for Plats to be considered at 5/7/24 meeting

CUP / Variance Deadline - 4/22/24
Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Complete applications due for CUPs and Variances to be considered at the 5/7/24 meeting

Real Estate & Mobile Home Taxes - First Half
Monday, April 1, 2024

First half of Real Estate and Mobile Home Taxes due by the end of April. Please bring your tax notices with you. Tax payments must be made for the exact amount only.
Tax payments may be sent to the Treasurer's Office at 200 E. Center St, Madison, SD 57042 and MUST be postmarked by April 30. Please send your tax stubs to ensure proper credit to the correct parcels of land. Please note: Payments received or postmarked after April 30th will reflect a late fee and interest.

Property Tax Payment Drop Box
Monday, April 1, 2024

The Treasurer's Office also offers a drop box for property tax payments located between the double doors of the north entrance to the courthouse. Payments must include the payment coupon or parcel number with each payment and be in the exact amount only (all others will be returned). If you would like a receipt, please include a self-addressed stamped envelope. Payments dropped off after 4:30 p.m., M-F will be credited the following business day.

Lake County © 2024. Developed by Intuvio Solutions.

Stay Connected: