Photo Credit: Sarina Talich

Meeting Information

The Commission's regular meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of the month. Exceptions for 2024 include: meet on Thursday, June 6th due to Primary election; meet on Tuesday, September 24th due to SDACC convention; meet on Thursday, November 7th due to the general election.

Meetings begin at 9:00 a.m. and continue until all business for that day is concluded. The Commission meets in the commission meeting room on the first floor of the courthouse. There is an outside entrance to the commission meeting room on the northeast corner of the courthouse.

If you are interested in addressing the Commission, there is a time reserved for public comments at the beginning of every regularly scheduled meeting. To provide for clarity and consistency, the Commission has adopted guidelines for their public comment period.

Public Comment Guidelines:

Anyone wishing to make a public comment must sign in prior to the comments portion of the meeting.

Each individual will be limited to three minutes to make their comments. Individuals who require interpreters or other special accommodations may be given additional time to speak, at the discretion of the Chair. Individuals may not relinquish their allotted time to anyone else.

Comments must be presented using a civil and professional demeanor. Threatening, profane, vulgar, or abusive language will not be tolerated.

No action may be taken by the public body on any comments during the same meeting in which the comments are made. Comments that are related to a topic that the public body feels may require formal action or further discussion may be placed on a future agenda by that public body at their discretion to allow for proper notice pursuant to the open meetings laws.

Comments related to topics that are on the current agenda must be made during the time for discussion allowed for that agenda item.

The period for public comment is intended for the public body to receive comments. Members of the public body are not required to respond to a comment, answer any questions, or engage in any dialogue with the individual making the comments.


The County Commission is the governing body of Lake County. It consists of five members who are elected to serve four year terms.

Commissioners: Corey Johnke, Adam Leighton, Deb Reinicke, Dennis Slaughter, and Kelli Wollmann

Contact Information

Kelli Wollmann

Commissioner - Chair Send an Email

Dennis Slaughter

Commissioner - Vice Chair 605-256-4662 Send an Email

Corey Johnke

Commissioner Send an Email

Adam Leighton

Commissioner Send an Email

Deb Reinicke

Commissioner 605-256-4621 Send an Email


Commission Administrative Officer

Contact Information

Main Office

Lake County Commissioners
200 E Center St
Madison SD 57042



Photo Credit: Sarina Talich


CUP/Variance Deadlines 8-5-24
Monday, July 22, 2024

Complete Applications due for Conditional Use & Variances to be considered for the 08/20/2024 Meeting

Plat Deadline - 7/29/24
Monday, July 8, 2024

Complete applications due for Plats to be considered at 8/6/24 meeting

July - License Plate Renewal M/N
Monday, July 1, 2024

Vehicle License plate renewal for vehicle owners with the FIRST letter in their LAST NAME that begins with M or N.

Lake County © 2024. Developed by Intuvio Solutions.

Stay Connected: